Cynthia and Curran
In 1876 B M Brown (one of the original 12 Dunedin homesteaders) and the Emerson family donated land for the construction of a church. Mr. Allan G Andrews pledged $200 for the construction costs of the church in memory of his late son. Today, it is one of the oldest remaining church buildings in Dunedin. In 1970, the church was saved from destruction by the Dunedin Historical Society by relocating it to its present location at the entrance to Hammock Park. The building was cut in half in order to move it, and restoration began in 1974. At that time, the chapel was added to the National Register of Historic Places.
The building has a charming Victorian style and is the perfect place for that perfect wedding. Constructed of Florida heart of pine, it has two foyers with Gothic archways leading into the sanctuary. The nautical appearing beamed ceiling, styled like a ship’s hull, is completely hand carved. The pews, also hand carved, are seventeen feet long and were built in the late 1800’s, and the stained-glass window over the pulpit is the original one.
Cynthia looked amazing as she was escorted down the aisle by her father to join Curran in front of the wedding altar. The couple’s custom designed ceremony included words about Love, Friendship, Loyalty, Fidelity and Trust, and the poem On Your Wedding Day. Then, in front of their family and friends, the couple shared their vows, exchanged rings and were pronounced husband and wife by Rev Rick Lackore of Sensational Ceremonies.
Florals provided by For Better For Less and Videography by Chuck with Hearts Video. Special thanks to Shannon Livingston with Livingston Galleries for providing this beautiful picture of the happy couple after their ceremony.
Congratulations to the new Mr. and Mrs. Curran Thomas!